Social Skills in High School

Not many people would say that social skills at the high school level are important, however, I think that they are imperative in a classroom with students with special needs. I am in no way saying that every student with special needs do not have social skills, but what I will say is that for most of the students with special needs social skills do need improvement, and that is not a bad thing, we all have things that we need to work on. Not to mention this is a very important skill to have, even with students without special needs it can be a struggle.

In my classroom I am going to have set aside time for social skills because they are so important to build on. Social skills help people with their future and as a high school teacher I will be preparing students for their future, so why not give them a tool that they can use to better their future? Three really important social skills that I really want to focus on  with students are:

  1. Asking for help.
  2. Expressing, managing, and handling how you feel.
  3. Standing up for yourself.

I want to focus on these social skills because they all will be extremely beneficial to the students as they go on to do things in life no matter what they do. I choose asking for help because it is something that everyone that I know struggles with it, but everyone needs to know that it is okay to ask for help and that it will help them in the long run. I choose expressing, managing, and handling how you feel because emotions are very tricky to work and deal with and this skill can help students handle their emotions better and in a more positive way. Finally I choose standing up for yourself because they have to. These students have to stick up for themselves especially when it comes to people treating them poorly, or if they are not getting something that they need. I think social skills like these would be very helpful at the high school level for these reasons.

Thank you for reading!

Hannah Hawley

2 thoughts on “Social Skills in High School

  1. Hannah! thank you so much for sharing your passion with us. I am so proud of you for knowing how to give our future special needs students the tools that they need to prosper in life. Strong social skills are very important because being able to interact with others is crucial for survival in the real world. I am glad that you are going to have set aside time for social skills for your students to to build off of in your classroom. Keep up the great work!

    Like

  2. Hannah,
    I totally agree with you that social skill is something that everyone could improve upon. I feel that your three steps will not only be helpful for students with special needs but also students who are shy as well! It was very insightful to read this and I definitely will apply this to my classroom! Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

